15 Comments

  1. Opher
    January 9 @ 10:27 am

    I have been reading Paul Auster and was thinking that he reminds me of Haruki Murakami more than any other writer I have read. He has that same surreal quality.

    Reply

    • Jessica Manuel
      January 9 @ 1:01 pm

      I haven’t had the pleasure, but I will add him to my list! Thanks for the recommendation.

      Reply

  2. Lisa
    January 10 @ 2:28 pm

    I am absolutely in love with Murakami so this post is great! So far I’ve only read some Kafka, but as I would have guessed, Murakami has an exquisite taste in books!

    Reply

  3. Ruma Dak
    January 16 @ 4:30 am

    Wow! Thanks for sharing this 🙂

    Reply

  4. AJS
    May 9 @ 3:53 pm

    No women?

    Reply

    • Jessica Manuel
      May 9 @ 9:02 pm

      I actually thought about that a lot prior to writing this. Do you think any female authors resemble Murakami’s style or voice? That is what I was aiming to recommend to readers.

      Reply

      • Klaus
        December 8 @ 9:09 pm

        I think Susanna Clarke’s work – Johnathan Strange and Mr. Norrell is worth a mention. She is the only woman author I have read that treads on similar ground – not quite magic realism, but a great intersection of magical & real world.

        Reply

        • Jessica S. Manuel
          December 9 @ 7:23 am

          How interesting. I have not read her but will add to her to my ever-growing list. I appreciate the recommendation!

          Reply

      • Dawn
        January 12 @ 8:32 am

        Hi Jessica, Thanks for being a great educator, program leader and friend. I’ve just read an article in Spanish from La Vanguardia in honour of Haruki on his 70th B.day.
        Murakami comments how he writes about strange things but in real life he’s a realist…how in general, the women he’s known have been more intelligent than himself.
        Regarding Women authors who resemble his style/voice we could consider a move away from patriarchal domination and include recommendations of merit
        https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magical_feminism

        Reply

        • Jessica S. Manuel
          January 12 @ 8:36 am

          Thank you for the link, Dawn! Are there any writers or works you think capture his magic?

          Reply

          • Dawn
            January 13 @ 3:55 am

            Murakami has said he wanted to create his own unique style. There are contemporary Women Writers enclosed with the link who I have not read yet but who write in the realm of Magical Realism this is what I want to promote.

            Reply

  5. Arkapravo
    April 22 @ 4:34 pm

    This may be either too ‘out of the box’ or just too foolhardy, but I found Murakami as more literal, voluminous and lyrical version of Philip K. Dick. Both Dick and Murakami try to conjure up newer realities which the protagonists of the novel try to explore and thus take the story forward. Murakami has a much broader audience, and not contained to only science fiction.

    Reply

    • Jessica S. Manuel
      April 22 @ 4:55 pm

      I am with you on that. A lot of my research into Murakami’s works explores the material imagination, the productive unconscious, and similar articulations.

      Reply

Share your thoughts...